## JIIT NOIDA

# MINUTES OF THE 35<sup>TH</sup>ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING OF JAYPEE INSTITUTE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, HELD AT 11.00 AM ON 25 MARCH 2023 AT JIIT, NOIDA

147/02

Following were present for the meeting:

- 1. The Vice Chancellor Chairperson
  Prof. Bodh Raj Mehta
- 2. Director(s) / Dean(s) of Faculties
  - (i) Prof D K Rai
  - (ii) Prof. Vikas Saxena
  - (iii) Prof. Pammi Gauba, Dean (A&R)-I
  - (iv) Prof. Shweta Srivastava, Dean (A&R)-II
  - (v) Prof. Alka Sharma, Dean (HSS)
- 3. Heads of the Departments
  - (i) Prof. Anirban Pathak
  - (ii) Prof. Alka Tripathi
- 4. Ten Professors other than the Heads of Departments

S.No	Employee Name	Dept	S.No	Employee Name	Dept
i	Prof. Neeraj Wadhwa	Biotech	vi	Prof. R.K. Misra	JBS
ii	Prof. S. Krishna Sundari	Biotech	vii	Prof. A.K. Aggarwal	Maths
iii	Prof. Sandeep Kr Singh	CSE/IT	viii	Prof. B.P. Chamola	Maths
iv	Prof. Sajaivir Singh	ECE	ix	Prof. R.K Dwivedi	PMSE
V	Prof. Jitendra Mohan	ECE	Х	Prof. Mukta Mani	HSS

- 5. Two Associate Professors from the Departments other than the Heads of the Departments by rotation of seniority
  - (i) Dr. Vijay Khare
  - (ii) Dr. Neetu Sardana
- 6. Two Assistant Professors from the Departments by rotation of seniority
  - (i) Dr. Yogesh Gupta
  - (ii) Dr. Prashant Kumar Chauhan
- 7. Three persons from amongst educationists of repute or persons from any other field related to the activities of the Institution deemed to be University who are not in the service of the Institution deemed to be University, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor
  - (i) Shri Ranjit Sinha, Independent Industry Expert
- 8. Three persons who are not members of the teaching staff, co-opted by the Academic Council for their specialized knowledge
  - (i) Brig Sanjay Dawar (Retd) Head Placements & Dean Students Welfare
  - (ii) Shri SB Pant CFO
- 9. The Registrar, who shall be the Secretary of the Academic Council (Ex-officio)
  Col Sharad Rastogi (Retd)

#### 10. Permanent Invitee

Prof. S.C. Saxena, Pro-Chancellor

## 11. Special Invitee

Mr. Mihir Kumar Jha

#### ITEM 1: WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS BY THE CHAIRPERSON

The Vice-Chancellor welcomed all the members of the Academic Council. He conveyed his gratitude to the external members who were attending the meeting in online mode.

He informed the members about the admission process for AY 2023-24. The last date of applications is 31 May 2023 with the 1<sup>st</sup> counselling for 10+2 marks based scheduled on 20-21 June 2023 and JEE Mains 2023 (AIR) based scheduled on 29-30 June 2023.

The member were informed about the proposal to commence the new programme i.e. Bachelor of Computer Applications at JIIT Noida. This was in consonance with the Industry requirements and career opportunities in software development, IT consultancy, system administration, and other computer-related fields.

#### ITEM 2: LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Leave of absence was granted to the following members:

- (i) Prof. Krishna Asawa
- (ii) Prof. S.P. Purohit
- (iii) Prof. Manoj Mishra, IIT Roorkee.
- (iv) Shri Subhash Verma, Managing Director & Vice President Engineering
- (v) Prof. Brahmjeet Singh, NIT, Kurukshetra
- (vi) Dr. Arup Kumar Das, Ericsson India Global

## ITEM 3: MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL AND REVIEW OF THE ACTION TAKEN REPORT

- (a) The Council considered and approved the Minutes of the last Academic Council Meeting held on 17 October 2022.
- (b) The Action Taken Report was reviewed.

#### ITEM 4: ACADEMIC ACTIVITIES DURING ACADEMIC YEAR 2022-23

The Academic Council noted the conduct of academic activities in phases during 1<sup>st</sup> semester of academic year 2022-23:

- (i) Phase-1: Commenced from 19 September 2022 onwards.
- (ii) Phase-2: Commenced from 12 November 2022 onwards.
- (iii) Phase-3: Commenced from 17 December 2022 onwards.

## ITEM 5: SEATS FOR PROGRAMS FOR ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24

The Academic Council noted the changes proposed in seats and approved the seats in the various programs for AY 2023-24 as below:

NIE O

		1 - 2	1
Program	Branch	Existing Seats	Proposed Seats
	Drunen	(AY 2022-23)	(AY 2023-24)
BTech	CSE	540	660
17/	IT	60	60
	ECE	480	360
	Biotechnology	60	60
Integrated	CSE	30	30
MTech	ECE	30	30
	Biotech	30	30
MTech	CSE	150	90
	ECE	54	30
	Biotechnology	30	30
MSc	Physics	10	20
	Mathematics	10	20
	Microbiology	45	45
	Environmental Biotech	10	20
	Economics	10	20
MBA	MBA	120	120
BBA	BBA	240	240
BSc	BSc	180	60

## ITEM-6 ADMISSION COMMITTEE FOR ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24

The Academic Council noted and approved the constitution of admission committee for various programs for AY 2023-24 as follows:

BTech & Integrated MTech for JEE (Main) & 10+2 merit based admissions:

- Dean (A&R)-II Chairperson
- Controller of Examination
- Registrar
- Dy Registrar

MBA and BBA programmes:

- Dean (A&R)-II, Chairperson
- Prof. Rajnish Kr Mishra, Head (Academic) JBS, Vice-Chairman
- Dr. Shriram Purankar, JBS
- Dr. Ridhimma B. Sharma
- Dr. Mitushi Singh
- Dr. Vikas Bhatnagar

- Registrar
- Dy Registrar

MTech, MSc and PhD programmes

- Dean (A&R)-I Chairperson
- Registrar
- Dy Registrar
- Departmental members as given below:

Dept Vice-Chairperson		Members PGET	Members PHD	
Biotech	Prof. Pammi	Prof. Indira P Sarethy	Prof. Shweta Dang	
	Gauba	Prof. Sujata Mohanty	Dr. Ekta Bhatt	
		Dr. Garima Mathur		
CSE	Prof. Vikas	Dr Shikha Jain	Dr Neetu Sardana	
	Saxena	Dr. Ankita Verma	Dr Bharat Gupta	
ECE	Prof. Shwe <mark>ta</mark>	Dr Vin <mark>eet Khand</mark> elwal	Prof. Jitendra Mohan	
	Srivastava	Dr Rahul Kaushik	Dr. Shamim Akhter	
HSS	Prof. Alka	Dr Manas Ranjan	Dr Manas Ranjan	
	Sharma	Behera	Behera,	
		A	Dr Anshu Banwari	
Maths	Prof. Alka	Dr. Pato Kumari	Prof. Amrish Agarwal	
	Tripathi			
Mgmt	Prof. Rajnish		Dr. Sujata Kapoor	
	Mishra		Dr.Ruby Sangar	
PMSE	Prof. Anirban	<mark>Dr. Man</mark> oj Chauhan	Dr. Anuraj Panwar	
	Pathak	Dr. Ravi Gupta	Dr. Manoj Tripathi	
		Dr. BC Joshi	Dr. Sandeep Mishra	

## BSc programme:

- Dean (A&R)-II Chairperson
- Prof. Alka Tripathi, Vice Chairperson
- Prof. Lokender Kumar, Co Vice-Chairman
- Prof. B.P. Chamola
- Dr. Manish Bansal
- Dr. Anuj Bhardwaj
- Registrar
- Dy Registrar

#### ITEM 7: ADMISSION IN BTECH AND INTEGRATED MTECH FOR AY 2023-24:

The Academic Council approved the distribution of seats during counselling for BTech and Integrated MTech programs for academic year 2023-24 as follows;

- (a) 50% through merit based on JEE 2023 AIR
- (b) 50% through merit based on 10+2 marks.
- (c) The unfulfilled seats of one category may be transferred to the other category. The final percentages may vary accordingly.

## ITEM-8 AMENDMENT TO TITLE OF BACHELOR OF SCIENCE (B.SC) DEGREE

The B.Sc program was started at JIIT Noida in AY 2022-23 (Agenda Item-9 of Academic Council meeting dated 06 August 2022). The Academic Council approved the following amendments in the conduct and the nomenclature of the program:

- (i) Program B.Sc in Computer Science with option to specialise in IT & Applications / Computing and Programming
- (ii) Award of B.Sc degree on completion of 3 years.
- (iii) Award of B.Sc (Honours) degree on completion of 4 years or Award of B.Sc (Honours with Research) Degree on completion of 4 years, if student undertakes research at UG level (in the program)

#### ITEM 9: ANY OTHER ITEM WITH PERMISSION OF THE CHAIR

There being no other point, the meeting ended with vote thanks to the chair.

Sd/-Registrar

**Member Secretary** 

Confirmed

Sd/Prof. B.R. Mehta
Vice Chancellor

Sd/-Prof S C Saxena

**Pro Chancellor** 

Dated: 31 March 2023